CTE Presidential Scholars Candidates Announced

The Department of Education recently announced 236 candidates (54 from Alaska) for the inaugural class of Presidential Scholars in CTE. The high school seniors were nominated from across the country by state education leaders, and now have the opportunity to submit applications in the next phase of the award process.

Application information will be due in February, with finalists announced in early May and the first group of 20 CTE Scholars recognized in Washington, DC in June as part of the annual U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognition.

The paragraph below, from the Department of Education’s website, summarizes the program:

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

ACTE worked closely with Members of Congress and the Administration to promote the CTE Scholars program, and we are very excited to see the first class of candidates! It is an honor for students’ CTE accomplishments to be recognized as part of this prestigious national award.

Source: CTE Policy Watch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s